“The right of the people to keep and bear arms...”
hank you for visiting Patriot Shooting School. At Patriot Shooting School, we are a Texas based business of dedicated professionals with over 30 years of Law Enforcement and Military experience. Our goal is to educate and advance you in understanding and firing weapons with confidence, accuracy, and precision.
his is a simple four step process.
Online State Application
CHANGES TO TEXAS CHL LAWS - EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 01, 2013
KNOW YOUR RIGHTS
The 2013 Texas Legislature FAILED to protect the Texas CHL Integrity - Though addressed with a number of the Texas Representatives and Senators, the integrity of the Texas CHL is still in grave danger. Though Texas allows our license to only be taught in Texas and only allows a Texas residents to obtain a Texas CHL, we still allow a Texas resident to bypass the Texas training requirements by carrying a license from another state that provides no training in the law or proficiency. Be aware that if you choose to use this loophole, you and your freedom are in jeopardy as you will likely break Texas laws with knowing you are. You will still face fines or prison time. TAKE THE TEXAS CHL COURSE.
SB 1907 by Sen. Glenn Hegar/ Rep. Tim Kleinschmidt provides that CHL-students can have firearms in their personal locked vehicle when parked on a private or public university or college parking lot. A CHL-student cannot be prosecuted but they were subject to the rule-making authority of the school and could be expelled. Passed and signed by Governor Perry.
The above appears to fall short of allowing law abiding CHL holders true freedom to protect themselves while going to/attending classes/returning home. If the rule making authority does not allow for firearms in the vehicle, they are still forced to be unarmed. I am very disappointed that our supposed Conservative Legislature did not pass Campus Carry SB 299 by Sen. Craig Estes/Rep. Kenneth Sheets provides language to clarify the unintentional display of a firearm by a concealed handgun licensee. The language changed from “failure to conceal” to “intentional display of a weapon in a public place” when force or deadly force is not authorized. Passed and Signed by Governor Perry.
SB 864 by Sen. Donna Campbell/Rep. Dan Flynn reduces the number of hours for the initial CHL class from 10. The bill does not effect the required subject matter, the written test, or firearm qualifications. Range qualification is still a requirement but will be in addition to the minimum of 4 and maximum of 6 hours of classroom time. Passed and Signed by Governor Perry. I am concerned that will now short change many students.
HB 48 by Rep. Dan Flynn/Sen. Donna Campbell creates in statute a process for renewing your CHL online without taking a renewal class or passing a range qualification test. Passed and Signed by Governor Perry 6/14/13.
It is now the responsibility of the CHL holder to research any and all changes to the law on their own. As we get older, our eyesight and stability falters. Based on this new law, you will no longer have to prove you can see or hit the target.
HB 698 by Rep. Springer/Sen. Craig Estes requires access to digital fingerprinting not more than 25 miles from the applicant’s residence and is limited to counties with a population of 46,000 or less. This is specific to rural Texans who are forced to drive hundreds of miles for digital fingerprinting. Passed and Signed by Governor Perry 6/14/13. This becomes law on September first but fails to actually create the additional locations for fingerprinting.
HB 3142 by Rep. Cecil Bell, Jr./Sen. Craig Estes repeals the SA/NA designation for the CHL license. You can now take the exam with a revolver and carry a semi-automatic. Passed and Signed by Governor Perry 6/14/13
HB 1421 by Rep. Perry/Sen. Craig Estes provides law enforcement agencies an option in statute to sell confiscated firearms to a federal firearm dealer (FFL) instead of destroying them. After the cost of the sale and any other related charges, funds could stay with that law enforcement agency. Passed and Signed by Governor Perry. Finally the state will allow us to purchase confiscated weapons rather than pay to destroy them.
HB 333 by Rep. Guillen/ Sen. Hinojosa requires hotels and motels to provide advance notice if they prohibit firearms. Passed and Signed by Governor Perry.